Which firms specialise in UK search funds? Advisers and lenders on 57 deals

We read the public announcements behind 57 completed UK search fund and acquisition holding company deals for the advisers they name, and Companies House for the lender. Two firms, Gerald Edelman and Buzzacott, advised the buyer on 20 of the 27 deals that name a buyer’s adviser.

ExitRadar Research·Published 30 October 2026·6 min read

Ask a UK searcher for a search fund specialist, whether for due diligence, the legal work, corporate finance or the debt, and the answer is usually a name or two from whoever closed last. There is a better source on the public record. Advisers announce the deals they work on, buyers thank the firms that helped them, and every lender's security is filed at Companies House.

We read all of it for the 57 completed UK acquisitions in our record of search fund deals: 34 by search funds and 23 by acquisition holding companies, from 2021 to 2026. For every deal we looked for each firm a public source names as advising on it, which side it acted for, and the lender holding the charge at completion.

For searchers

Find owner-run companies that fit your search

Set your sector, region and EBITDA range, owner age included, and see which UK companies fit. The free trial includes 3 unlocks to reveal the companies behind the matches.

Start free trial
Key findings
  • 31 of the 57 deals name at least one adviser in a public source, 53 firms in all.
  • On the buyer's side two firms dominate: Gerald Edelman or Buzzacott advised the buyer on 20 of the 27 deals that name a buyer's adviser, and never both on the same deal.
  • Where a source names who did the buyer's financial due diligence, it was one of those two on 17 of 22 deals.
  • The sellers' advisers are spread out: 27 firms, 26 of them on a single deal.
  • Shawbrook held the charge on 12 deals, the most of any lender, but none after 2024.
31 of 57
Completed UK search fund and acquisition holding company deals with an adviser named in public
53 firms named across them, each linked to the source that names it
Publicly stated
20
Deals where Gerald Edelman or Buzzacott advised the buyer
Of the 27 deals that name anyone advising the buyer; never both on one deal
Publicly stated
12
Deals Shawbrook lent on, the most of any lender
Across 6 buyers, 2021 to 2024, as filed at Companies House
Companies House
27
Firms named advising the sellers
26 of them on a single deal
Publicly stated

UK search fund advisers

A firm counts on a deal when a public page names it advising on that deal: its own announcement, the buyer's, the lender's case study or trade press. We record the side the page states and nothing more. Where a page lists a firm without saying who it acted for, the firm appears with its side not stated.

Exhibit 1
Gerald Edelman or Buzzacott advised the buyer on 20 of the 27 deals that name a buyer’s adviser
Advisers named on two or more of the 57 completed UK deals
Advisers named on two or more UK search fund and acquisition holding company deals.
FirmDealsFor the buyerFor the sellersFor the lender or side not statedWork named
Gerald Edelman111100financial due diligence, corporate finance
Buzzacott10901financial due diligence
Marriott Harrison4301law
Ashtons Legal3300law
Fox Williams3300law
Larking Gowen3120financial due diligence, corporate finance
HMT2110financial due diligence, corporate finance
Knights2110law
Benchmark International2002corporate finance
Entrepreneurs Hub2011corporate finance
Pinsent Masons2002law
Public deal announcements and Companies House charges. Adviser research 29 October 2026; deal set cut 24 September 2026. — A firm counts on a deal when a public source names it as advising on that deal: the firm’s own announcement, the buyer’s, the lender’s, or trade press. The side is what the source states. 31 of the 57 deals have at least one adviser named; the rest have none in any source we found, which is not the same as having none. Firms that announce every deal they work on show up more often than firms that announce none.

The pattern on the buyer's side is concentration. A searcher buying a business needs three things done for them: financial and tax due diligence, the legal work on the purchase and the debt, and often help raising the debt itself. On these deals the first of those went to Gerald Edelman or Buzzacott far more often than to anyone else.

The sellers' side looks nothing like that. 27 firms are named advising the sellers, and 26 of them appear on only one deal in the record.

Search fund specialists in the UK and London

Nobody certifies a search fund specialist, so we count. The firms named advising the buyer on at least 3 of the 57 deals are Gerald Edelman (11 deals), Buzzacott (9 deals), Ashtons Legal (3 deals), Fox Williams (3 deals) and Marriott Harrison (3 deals). This is a record of who worked on these deals, not a recommendation.

In London, those listing an office are Gerald Edelman (11 deals), Buzzacott (9 deals), Fox Williams (3 deals) and Marriott Harrison (3 deals). Also listing a London office, and named on two or more deals: HMT (2 deals), Entrepreneurs Hub (2 deals) and Pinsent Masons (2 deals). Firms named on two or more deals show their offices on their cards below.

Corporate finance firms on search fund deals

Public sources name 17 firms for corporate finance work on these deals, 13 of them for the sellers. On the buyer's side they name Gerald Edelman (2 deals) and Bamburgh Capital (1 deal).

Every firm named

Each firm, with every deal it is named on and the page that names it:

Financial due diligence

Gerald Edelman

11 deals · 11 for the buyer

Financial due diligence on 9 deals and corporate finance on 2 deals, 2021 to 2025. Offices: London.

Financial due diligence

Buzzacott

10 deals · 9 for the buyer · 1 side not stated

Financial due diligence on 8 deals and 2 deals with the work not stated, 2023 to 2026. Offices: London.

Law

Marriott Harrison

4 deals · 3 for the buyer · 1 side not stated

Law on 3 deals and 1 deal with the work not stated, 2023 to 2025. Offices: London.

Law

Ashtons Legal

3 deals · 3 for the buyer

Law on 3 deals, 2022 to 2024. Offices: Bury St Edmunds, Cambridge, Ipswich, Leeds and Norwich.

Law

Fox Williams

3 deals · 3 for the buyer

Law on 3 deals, 2024 to 2025. Offices: London.

Corporate finance

Larking Gowen

3 deals · 1 for the buyer · 2 for the sellers

Financial due diligence on 1 deal and corporate finance on 2 deals, 2022 to 2026. Offices: Colchester, Diss, Fakenham, Ipswich and Norwich.

Financial due diligence

HMT

2 deals · 1 for the buyer · 1 for the sellers

Financial due diligence on 1 deal and corporate finance on 1 deal, 2021 to 2024. Offices: Henley-on-Thames and London.

Law

Knights

2 deals · 1 for the buyer · 1 for the sellers

Law on 2 deals, 2021 to 2025. Offices: 29 UK locations.

Corporate finance

Benchmark International

2 deals · 2 side not stated

Corporate finance on 2 deals, 2023 to 2026. Offices: Manchester and Oxford.

Corporate finance

Entrepreneurs Hub

2 deals · 1 for the sellers · 1 side not stated

Corporate finance on 1 deal and 1 deal with the work not stated, 2024 to 2025. Offices: Basingstoke, Birmingham, London and Manchester.

Law

Pinsent Masons

2 deals · 1 for the lender · 1 side not stated

Law on 2 deals, 2023 to 2024. Offices: London, Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and other UK cities.

Corporate finance

Bamburgh Capital

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2024.

Financial due diligence

BDO

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Financial due diligence on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

Bird & Bird

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Law on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

Birketts

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Financial due diligence

Ensors

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Financial due diligence on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

Hood Corporate

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Debt advice

IMAP

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Debt advice on 1 deal, 2025.

Law

K&L Gates

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Law on 1 deal, 2021.

Financial due diligence

Saffery

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Financial due diligence on 1 deal, 2024.

Law

Shoosmiths

1 deal · 1 for the buyer

Law on 1 deal, 2024.

Role not stated

Azets

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

1 deal with the work not stated, 2022.

Corporate finance

Barnes Roffe

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Law

Browne Jacobson

1 deal · 1 for the lender

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Law

Buckles

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Corporate finance

Castle Square

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Debt advice

Cavendish

1 deal · 1 side not stated

Debt advice on 1 deal, 2023.

Role not stated

CG Professionals

1 deal · 1 side not stated

1 deal with the work not stated, 2025.

Law

Clarke Willmott

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2021.

Law

Cripps

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

Flint Bishop

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Law

Forbes

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

Fosters

1 deal · 1 side not stated

Law on 1 deal, 2024.

Corporate finance

Fx Dynamics

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2021.

Role not stated

HCR

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

1 deal with the work not stated, 2022.

Role not stated

Herrington Carmichael

1 deal · 1 side not stated

1 deal with the work not stated, 2025.

Role not stated

IBB

1 deal · 1 side not stated

1 deal with the work not stated, 2025.

Law

IBB Law

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2024.

Law

Leathes Prior

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2024.

Corporate finance

Mazars

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2023.

Law

PDT Solicitors

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2023.

Corporate finance

PEM

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Corporate finance

PKF Smith Cooper

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Corporate finance

PM+M

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2023.

Corporate finance

Price Bailey

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2024.

Corporate finance

Quest Corporate

1 deal · 1 side not stated

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Law

RWK Goodman

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Corporate finance

Sedulo

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2025.

Financial due diligence

Shaw Gibbs

1 deal · 1 side not stated

Financial due diligence on 1 deal, 2025.

Corporate finance

Smith & Williamson

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Corporate finance on 1 deal, 2021.

Law

Spire Solicitors

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2024.

Law

Squire Patton Boggs

1 deal · 1 for the lender

Law on 1 deal, 2022.

Law

Squires

1 deal · 1 for the sellers

Law on 1 deal, 2025.

Each deal link is the page that names the firm on that deal; the office link is the firm’s own page. Advise on a deal listed here and not named? Write to [email protected] with the public source and we will add it.


The lenders

The lender comes from the register, not from announcements. When a deal is financed, the lender registers a charge over the business at Companies House, so we take the institution holding the charge registered from three months before to six months after completion: one lender per deal. A loan from the sellers counts as no lender.

Exhibit 2
Shawbrook lent on the most deals, but none since 2024
Lender of record on each deal, as filed at Companies House
Lenders holding the charge registered at completion on UK search fund and acquisition holding company deals.
LenderDealsDifferent buyersYears
Shawbrook1262021 to 2024
HSBC UK Bank662021 to 2026
Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending442024 to 2026
Close Brothers432024 to 2025
Triple Point332024 to 2025
Metro Bank222025
Lloyds112026
BPC UK Lending112025
Barclays112024
DunPort Capital Management112024
ThinCats112024
Apex Group, as security agent112023
Bain Capital Credit, as security agent112023
Archover112022
Growth Lending112021
Public deal announcements and Companies House charges. Adviser research 29 October 2026; deal set cut 24 September 2026. — One lender per deal: the institution holding the charge registered from three months before to six months after completion. BWS Security Systems, where HSBC registered a charge beside Shawbrook’s, counts under Shawbrook, and Garner Osborne Circuits, which carries ThinCats’ charge and its equity backer Ethos Partners’, counts under ThinCats, which the sale adviser names as the debt provider. Royal Bank of Scotland’s two charges refinanced the Blue Knot group after both of its purchases, so they are not counted, and nor is a loan from the sellers. Lendnet, which holds the charge on one deal, is left out: we found nothing about the firm beyond its registration.

Who lends has changed. The lenders on a deal from 2025 to 2026 are HSBC UK Bank, Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending, Close Brothers, Triple Point, Metro Bank, Lloyds and BPC UK Lending. The year-by-year split by kind of lender is Exhibit 3 of the deals record.


Deal by deal

Every deal in the record, with the lender and every adviser a public source names: deals with advisers named first, newest first within each. A deal with no adviser listed is one no public source we found names an adviser for, not one that had none.

Search funds

M & R Creative Designs

Mar 2026 · Blue Knot · Royal Bank of Scotland charge from a later group refinancing

For the buyer: Larking Gowen (financial due diligence).

Search funds

Ives & Co Solicitors

Feb 2026 · River Cam Group · no lender charge at completion

For the buyer: Buzzacott (financial due diligence). Side not stated: Benchmark International (corporate finance).

Search funds

D & G Builders and Joiners

Nov 2025 · Birch Faraday Capital · lender Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending

For the sellers: Sedulo (corporate finance). Side not stated: CG Professionals (role not stated), Herrington Carmichael (role not stated), Buzzacott (role not stated).

Search funds

Millenium Site Services

Oct 2025 · Maple House Capital · lender HSBC UK Bank

For the buyer: Buzzacott (role not stated), Marriott Harrison (law). For the sellers: PKF Smith Cooper (corporate finance), Flint Bishop (law). For the lender: Browne Jacobson (law).

Search funds

Paul Mathew Transport

Sep 2025 · Novastone Capital Advisors · lender Metro Bank

For the buyer: Birketts (law), Buzzacott (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Knights (law).

Search funds

Greenhouses Direct

Jun 2025 · Kantik Capital and Mirabel Group · lender HSBC UK Bank

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence), IMAP (debt advice), Fox Williams (law). For the sellers: PEM (corporate finance), Buckles (law).

Search funds

Rowleys of Northwich

Apr 2025 · Mentmore Capital · lender Triple Point

For the buyer: Marriott Harrison (law), Buzzacott (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Castle Square (corporate finance), Squires (law).

Search funds

Scottish Everlastings

Apr 2025 · Heronshaw Group · lender HSBC UK Bank

For the buyer: Hood Corporate (law). Side not stated: Quest Corporate (corporate finance), Shaw Gibbs (financial due diligence).

Acquisition holding companies

Introland

Mar 2025 · Kingley Holdings · lender Metro Bank

For the sellers: Barnes Roffe (corporate finance), RWK Goodman (law).

Acquisition holding companies

Acorn Mechanical Pipework Services

Feb 2025 · Astra Holding · lender Close Brothers

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence). Side not stated: Marriott Harrison (role not stated), IBB (role not stated), Entrepreneurs Hub (role not stated).

Search funds

Vistafolia

Feb 2025 · Profectus Capital · no lender charge at completion

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence).

Search funds

Highbury Support Services

Dec 2024 · Birch Faraday Capital · lender Close Brothers

For the buyer: Bamburgh Capital (corporate finance), Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Price Bailey (corporate finance), Leathes Prior (law).

Search funds

HMDG

Sep 2024 · Dramont Capital · lender Triple Point

For the buyer: Buzzacott (financial due diligence).

Search funds

Accelerator Solutions

Aug 2024 · Full Circle Capital · no lender charge at completion

For the buyer: Fox Williams (law), Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence).

Acquisition holding companies

Entec Access Systems

Jul 2024 · Nellmapius · no lender charge at completion

For the buyer: Fox Williams (law), Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence).

Acquisition holding companies

Silex

May 2024 · Euston Ventures · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Ashtons Legal (law), Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Entrepreneurs Hub (corporate finance), IBB Law (law). For the lender: Pinsent Masons (law).

Search funds

Saepio Solutions

Apr 2024 · Aurias · lender DunPort Capital Management

For the buyer: Saffery (financial due diligence), Shoosmiths (law).

Search funds

Garner Osborne Circuits

Apr 2024 · Novastone Capital Advisors · lender ThinCats

For the buyer: Buzzacott (financial due diligence). For the sellers: HMT (corporate finance).

Search funds

Art Angels Publishing

Jan 2024 · Blue Knot · no lender charge at completion

For the sellers: Larking Gowen (corporate finance), Spire Solicitors (law). Side not stated: Fosters (law).

Search funds

Harlow Printing

Sep 2023 · Silverbaton Capital · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Buzzacott (financial due diligence).

Search funds

The Combined Services Provider

Aug 2023 · Norland Equity Partners · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence). Side not stated: Pinsent Masons (law), Benchmark International (corporate finance).

Search funds

Jaama

Jul 2023 · Lexana Capital · lender Apex Group, as security agent

For the buyer: Buzzacott (financial due diligence). Side not stated: Cavendish (debt advice).

Search funds

Peacock Engineering

Jul 2023 · Galanthus Partners · lender Bain Capital Credit, as security agent

For the buyer: BDO (financial due diligence), Bird & Bird (law).

Acquisition holding companies

Safespaces (Cornholme)

Apr 2023 · Euston Ventures · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Ensors (financial due diligence), Ashtons Legal (law). For the sellers: PM+M (corporate finance), Forbes (law).

Search funds

Forza Doors

Apr 2023 · Novastone Capital Advisors · no lender charge at completion

For the buyer: Marriott Harrison (law), Buzzacott (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Mazars (corporate finance), Cripps (law), PDT Solicitors (law).

Acquisition holding companies

Hammond Chemicals

Mar 2023 · Euston Ventures · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (corporate finance).

Search funds

Amber Home Improvements

Sep 2022 · Citium Capital · lender Archover

For the sellers: Larking Gowen (corporate finance).

Acquisition holding companies

Pimseal

Aug 2022 · Euston Ventures · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (financial due diligence), Ashtons Legal (law). For the sellers: Azets (role not stated), HCR (role not stated). For the lender: Squire Patton Boggs (law).

Search funds

Workpays

Sep 2021 · Coniston Peak · lender Growth Lending

For the buyer: Gerald Edelman (corporate finance).

Acquisition holding companies

BWS Security Systems

Sep 2021 · Sonmarg Capital · lender Shawbrook

For the buyer: K&L Gates (law), HMT (financial due diligence). For the sellers: Smith & Williamson (corporate finance), Clarke Willmott (law).

Search funds

Index Enclosures

Mar 2021 · Kent Business Investors · lender HSBC UK Bank

For the buyer: Knights (law). For the sellers: Fx Dynamics (corporate finance).

Search funds

Coffee Passion

Sep 2026 · Epilogue Capital Partners · lender HSBC UK Bank

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Kid Ease

Mar 2026 · Norte Partners · lender Lloyds

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Tayrol

Mar 2026 · MDV-Ventures · lender Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

ServiceTec Global Services

Dec 2025 · Veloce IT · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

B D & H

Nov 2025 · Blue Knot · Royal Bank of Scotland charge from a later group refinancing

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

CPS (Wales) Group

Jun 2025 · Progression Capital · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Servicom (High Tech)

Apr 2025 · GV Capital Partners · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

European Plastics

Mar 2025 · Euston Ventures · lender Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Infrastructure Design Solutions

Mar 2025 · Acacia Partners · lender BPC UK Lending

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Phoenix Taxis (North East)

Dec 2024 · Backer Group · lender Close Brothers

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Readypay

Dec 2024 · Backer Group · lender Close Brothers

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Ross Martin Tax Consultancy

Oct 2024 · Carlatton Capital · lender Triple Point

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Expert Packaging

Jun 2024 · Beltline Capital · lender Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Jones Skip Hire (Wolverhampton)

Mar 2024 · Continuance Capital · lender Shawbrook

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Serv-Ice Refrigeration

Mar 2024 · Kantik Capital · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

R.D.M. Industrial Services

Feb 2024 · EMC Capital · lender Barclays

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

MBPA

Nov 2023 · Harvest Capital Partners · lender Shawbrook

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

Custom Labels

Nov 2023 · Trevelyan Capital · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Motohaus Powersports

Sep 2023 · King Partners · lender HSBC UK Bank

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

UK Service Lifts

Jun 2023 · Accessen Group · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Apex Alarms

Jan 2023 · Sonmarg Capital · lender Shawbrook

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

John D. Hill Electrical

Jan 2023 · Sonmarg Capital · lender Shawbrook

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

D.J. Mace & Son (Electrical Contractors)

Jul 2022 · Advantos Group · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Amadeus Software

Aug 2021 · Wintervest Capital · no lender charge at completion

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Acquisition holding companies

Onyx Business Systems

Feb 2021 · Clipeum IT · lender charge at completion (lender not listed; see the lenders note)

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Search funds

PeterLynn

Feb 2021 · Continuance Capital · lender Shawbrook

No adviser named in any public source we found.

Deals with advisers named first, newest first within each. The lender is the institution holding the charge registered at completion, as filed at Companies House.


How we built this

The 57 deals are the record behind our UK search fund deals article: completed UK acquisitions by search funds and acquisition holding companies, each confirmed by a public source and by the change of owner filed at Companies House. For each one we read the source already on file and searched for the deal's other announcements: adviser deal notes, the buyer's and the lender's news pages, and trade press. We kept a firm only when a page names both the firm and the business bought, and read each page itself rather than a summary of it. Two of those pages have since gone offline; their links point to the archived copies we read.

Three limits matter when reading the counts. They are a floor: an adviser appears only if someone published the deal, and many deals are never announced. Firms that announce every deal they work on appear more often than firms that announce none, so a high count shows activity on the public record, not market share. And the side is only what a source says; we do not assume a firm acted for the buyer because it usually does.

Offices come from each firm's own website, read on 30 October 2026, for the firms named on two or more deals.

For the wider picture of who backs, lends to and advises UK searchers, see our map of the UK search fund ecosystem; for the investors on these deals' Companies House filings, see who backs UK search funds.

Who are the search fund specialists in the UK?

Nobody certifies a search fund specialist, so we count: the firms public sources name advising the buyer on at least 3 of 57 completed UK deals are Gerald Edelman (11 deals), Buzzacott (9 deals), Ashtons Legal (3 deals), Fox Williams (3 deals) and Marriott Harrison (3 deals). That is a record of who worked on these deals, not a recommendation.

Who are the search fund specialists in London?

Of those firms, the ones listing a London office are Gerald Edelman (11 deals), Buzzacott (9 deals), Fox Williams (3 deals) and Marriott Harrison (3 deals). Also listing a London office, and named on two or more deals: HMT (2 deals), Entrepreneurs Hub (2 deals) and Pinsent Masons (2 deals).

Which corporate finance firms work with search funds in the UK?

Public sources name 17 firms for corporate finance work on these deals, 13 of them for the sellers. On the buyer’s side they name Gerald Edelman (2 deals) and Bamburgh Capital (1 deal). The firms named on more than one deal for this work are Benchmark International (2 deals), Gerald Edelman (2 deals) and Larking Gowen (2 deals).

Which firms advise UK search funds on acquisitions?

Across 57 completed UK deals by search funds and acquisition holding companies, public sources name 53 firms as advisers on 31 of them. On the buyer’s side, Gerald Edelman (11 deals) and Buzzacott (9 deals) are named far more often than anyone else: one of the two advised the buyer on 20 of the 27 deals that name a buyer’s adviser. Firms named on more than one deal: Gerald Edelman, Buzzacott, Marriott Harrison, Ashtons Legal, Fox Williams, Larking Gowen, HMT, Knights, Benchmark International, Entrepreneurs Hub and Pinsent Masons.

Who does financial due diligence on UK search fund deals?

Where a source names who did the buyer’s financial due diligence, it was Gerald Edelman or Buzzacott on 17 of 22 deals.

Who lends to UK search funds?

From the charge registered at completion, as filed at Companies House: Shawbrook (12 deals), HSBC UK Bank (6 deals), Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending (4 deals), Close Brothers (4 deals) and Triple Point (3 deals) lent on the most of these deals. Lenders on a deal from 2025 to 2026: HSBC UK Bank, Arbuthnot Commercial Asset Based Lending, Close Brothers, Triple Point, Metro Bank, Lloyds and BPC UK Lending.

How was this list put together?

We took the 57 deals in our record of completed UK acquisitions by search funds and acquisition holding companies and read every public announcement we could find for each one: the advisers’ own deal notes, the buyers’, the lenders’ and trade press. A firm is listed on a deal only when a source names it on that deal, and its side is only what the source says. Companies House records charges, so the lender comes from there; it does not record advisers.

ExitRadar analyses public UK company data to identify businesses showing succession and exit signals. Advise on one of these deals and not listed, or listed wrongly? Write to [email protected] with the public source.